Still here, still knitting

The projected low here tonight is 54 degrees Fahrenheit, and I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am that endless summer may have come to an end at last. Yesterday it had rained by the time I left work, and I walked outside and thought, Cold weather! (Then I realized it was probably about 60F, which shouldn’t count, but it was a 30-degree drop from the weekend, so “cold” is probably fair.)

I went back east to see my mom at the end of September, which was lovely, even though – or maybe even because – it was cool and rainy much of the time. My cousins were visiting while I was there, and the first two days were spectacularly gorgeous and sunny.

30784718515_c17b99c2ab_oArchetypal New England scene. Unfortunately we were a little early for fall colors, but I’m pretty happy with green. I was trying to line up the vertical lines of the church with the vertical lines on the grid of my camera screen and realized that there weren’t actually any true vertical lines on the church – reminding me of a moment in high school when I was sitting in the kitchen of my parents’ very old house with some friends and one of them said, “Does your ceiling go down or do your cupboards go up?”

29572114023_e9c5789ff5_oNo idea what this is, but I liked the colors. It was in the border of a little town square with a monument to “those that fell in the Rebellion of 1861 to 1865.” God, I love New England.

30201361875_90152844e6_oThis town holds movies and concerts in the park over the summer – the grass was all worn down and tired out and ready to go to sleep for the winter.

Then it turned gray. We went exploring one day to find a tennis goods store that had apparently turned into a resortwear store and then wasn’t even open anyway, but we realized we were about a block from the beach, so headed that way, parked illegally in the driveway of a beachfront mansion, and took a short walk. (My cousins are from England, and the plan was if anyone had a problem with where we parked, my cousins would put on their best accents and charmingly claim confusion. But it was a cool gray September day and the beachfront mansions were all deserted.)

img_4172

The vacation was a great break from real life. And of course, having all that spare time (including ridiculously long flights) was great for knitting. I think my cousins were a little bemused that I could knit and hang out talking with them at the same time. Isn’t it great how magical knitting seems to non-knitters? I plowed through about three-quarters of a sport-weight cardigan.

30457490106_a6868a99aa_oStitch marker courtesy of Yarn Hound, which is a really pretty little store. Kinky yarn courtesy of unraveling my swatches because it was easier to knit from them than to wind a new skein.

30457500336_60e05101cb_o

I love the way the raglan increases look in this yarn. And I’m so. very. close. to being done – I have about 1/2 a sleeve and a collar to go; I’ll show you the whole thing and the pattern when I get it done, and washed, and all the wrinkles from being stuffed in my project bag have been smoothed away. Unfortunately, not long after I got back from vacation I used up my last wound yarn. I have more yarn, but it’s in the skein, and life/work (mostly work) has been crazy enough that I really haven’t wanted to spend my little free time winding yarn. Instead I’ve been picking up whatever projects I can find that don’t require thought or winding yarn. I have a tiny bit of breathing space now and I can’t decide whether to come back to the cardigan, or finish the even-more-mindless projects. We’ll see what inspires me more. (It’s still too hot to wear the cardigan anyway.)

The absolute best thing about the vacation was reconnecting with my family (I saw my sister too! and she has pink and purple in her hair right now and it looks awesome! and I live far away from all my family and am really terrible about making time to see them and I need to get better at that really soon before it’s too late). But I also loved seeing how much knitting I could get done in a week of really serious knitting time. I think I miss vacation as much for the gobs of knitting time as for the rest of it, in part because the knitting is almost as relaxing as the rest of the vacation. Too bad that whole pesky day job thing gets in the way of knitting.

My next vacation is going to be between Christmas and New Year’s, and I’m already pleasurably plotting both what I’m going to knit for the vacation, and on the vacation. There’s going to be plenty of car time. It’s going to be epic. (For a middle-aged middle=class lady who loves knitting, that is.)

 

Leave a Reply

