Fancy strap for my fancy camera

I have been working on lots of different stuff lately, including a couple of finished knitting projects I need to post about, but thought I’d show you my latest sewing project:

  

I hated the strap that came with my camera – it had SONY SONY SONY SONY all over it, plus it was flimsy and had scratchy edges. So I decided to make one. 

It ended up being a comedy of errors: I originally intended to use cotton webbing (for durability), but once I stitched on the ribbon and tried to attach the connectors, I realized the webbing I’d bought was way too stiff to hang comfortably as a strap. So then I made a strap out of leftover black canvas and some fusible fleece. That worked much better, but I absolutely mangled the vinyl patches at the ends. I ended up gluing them for function’s sake, and they work, but are ugly.

And of course after I did this I found a much better guide for how to make a strap that would have avoided all these problems – oh well.

I don’t know whether I’ve forgotten how hard it was to learn to knit well enough to produce usable finished objects, but sewing seems to have a much steeper learning curve. In part it’s because I seem to sew in fits and starts, because the lighting in our loft, where the sewing machine lives, isn’t good enough to get much done in the evening. It’s also that depending where you are in a project, it’s harder to pick up and put down sewing in the middle of something. 

But it was fun to get back to the sewing machine, even if the project just required cutting and sewing straight lines, and swearing a bit at some vinyl. 

2 thoughts on “Fancy strap for my fancy camera

    1. Of course! The tutorial I used was here: http://www.ikatbag.com/2009/06/how-to-make-camera-strap.html?m=1. The problem I had was that the vinyl I had was very soft, so on its own it was really hard to sew because it bunched up under the presser foot. So then I used some of the rejected cotton webbing in between, and that made everything too bulky for my machine to really handle. But there would have been lots of better ways to fix that!

      The one I found and want to try is here: http://thehousethatlarsbuilt.com/2013/08/diy-vintage-ribbon-camera-strap.html/ – no vinyl! And I like the swivel hooks at each end better than the little black connector straps. (Which I had pillaged from the original strap!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

