Getting to know bloggers

Awwwww – I was nominated for an award!

liebster-award

Thank you so much, nerdknitter!

Apparently the way this works is:

  1. Make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
    Include the Liebster Award sticker in the post too.
  2. Nominate 5 -10 other bloggers who you feel are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts. You can also nominate the person who nominated you.
  3. Ensure all of these bloggers have less than 200 followers.
  4. Answer the eleven questions asked to you by the person who nominated you, and make eleven questions of your own for your nominees or you may use the same questions.
  5. Lastly, COPY these rules in your post.

* * * * * *

First, I nominate the following bloggers:

Yards of Happiness

jenknittingaround

Life During Wartime

Knit Me for a Loop

I’m sorry it’s not more, but I’m still discovering knitting/craft blogs, and most of the ones I read are followed by many, many people already.

* * * * * *

Here are the questions I was asked, and my answers:

  1. What got you into blogging?
    That’s kind of a long story… but the short version is that I blogged elsewhere about different things for quite a long time (10 years-ish?). That space no longer worked for me, but I found myself wanting to ramble about knitting and crafting . . . but I don’t know anyone in real life who knits/crafts (enough to want to talk about it, at least). So blogging seemed like a good solution; even if no one ends up reading, I can work out my various craft obsessions.
  2. What does your perfect day look like?
    I wish I were one of those people whose perfect day begins with getting up early, yoga in the early sun or maybe a quick run, then herbal tea with granola parfait before a day of creating beautiful things in a serene, beautiful space. But really, my perfect day is sleeping late, getting up slowly, throwing on jeans and a cosy hoodie, then heading to brunch with fried potatoes in whatever form, bacon, fruit, and fresh-squeezed OJ (maybe with a little champagne in it). After that, sitting in a lovely coffee shop, or on a deck overlooking the water, sipping an iced latte and nibbling cookies or cake, knitting and reading; then a movie, or a walk in the beautiful outdoors, or shopping in fun and funky shops filled with pretty things I don’t need but that are fun to look at. It would be fall, the leaves changing color and the sky brilliant blue, and the right temperature to sit in the sun with a sweatshirt on. I’d end the day with dinner with friends, at someone’s house, with the chance to sit around a fire, either on a lake or at the beach. Toasted marshmallows would not be optional.
  3. What’s your favorite item to knit? Shawls, sweaters, socks or something else entirely?
    Sweaters, by far. After that probably shawls/scarves, and hats.
  4. Are you result-driven knitter or is it more about the journey?
    The results are what get me going; I knit to have the garments I want, the way I want them. The irony is that once I’ve finished a project, I think the pleasure of having finished, and the journey, is just as satisfying as having the garment, so if it turns out not what I’d imagined, I’m still pretty happy.
  5. What’s your favorite TV-show, movie or book?
    This is so hard to answer. I think my favorite books are Margaret Atwood’s Cat’s Eye, for its merciless and yet compassionate of childhood cruelty and rivalries, and Willa Cather’s My Antonia, which I picked up on vacation once and read because I thought it was something I should read, and was surprised to love. For TV, right now I’m enjoying working through all the episodes of Anthony Bourdain, Parts Unknown.
  6. What’s your favorite yarn / fibre?
    Also super hard to answer. I love the look and texture and weight of wool, but often find it uncomfortable to wear (I get itchy and it’s too hot here). I love silk and cotton fabrics, but don’t always enjoy knitting with those yarns – not so much because of the non-elasticity, but more because there are a lot of nubby/rustic varieties, and I like smooth yarns. At the same time, very smooth cotton/silk tends to stretch out and droop. My favorite wool is probably Madelinetosh Tosh Merino Light – I feel like I could knit that for the rest of my life and be fairly content. Favorite cotton is Cascade Ultra Pima Fine. For something very different and non-wool, I also love Classic Elite’s Firefly. (My favorite yarn I’ve never actually knit with is Quince and Co Sparrow – I love linen and think Quince is wonderful, but haven’t bit the bullet yet.)
  7. Do you have a favorite go-to pattern? If so which is it?
    I don’t, actually – despite being more results-oriented, I don’t think I’ve ever knit the same thing twice. I’ve considered reknitting Hannah Fettig’s Featherweight cardigan, and Cecily MacDonald’s Dalyla pullover, both of which I adore (I don’t know why more people haven’t knit Dalyla). But new projects always win out.
  8. What’s your favorite podcast or vlog?
    knit.fm got me into listening to podcasts, and I miss it. I also enjoy Woolful and Knit British.
  9. What’s your favorite Etsy shop?
    Hmmm. It changes over time as my interests change, but I do really like the stitch markers by Lady Danio at Exchanging Fire.
  10. Do you have any children or pets? Names, age, pics and all the details.
    No kids. Pets! We have 2 1/2 cats. The first, Harvey, is a blind Japanese bobtail – I think he’s about 11 now. The second, Alice Mary, is a three-legged dilute torti of indeterminate age, but who is probably a cranky old lady. (She was rescued by a vet tech after getting hit by a car, which led to her losing a leg; the vets’ office called her Granny because she was so granny-ish, and we named her Alice Mary after my granny and the husband’s granny.) The half a cat is Stripey, a local feral who lives outside but comes inside for air conditioning and good food.

    IMG_1152Harvey listening to the world.

    IMG_1068
    Stripey being a goof

    I am a bad cat mommy – I don’t have any decent pictures of Alice Mary at the moment; she usually utterly ignores my existence in favor of my husband, whom she adores.

  11. What’s your favorite food?
    Chocolate chip cookies! (Crispy, not soft, which horrifies the husband.)

And I am going to ask the questions that were given me, because I’m bad at coming up with questions, but also because I’d be very interested in the answers!

2 thoughts on “Getting to know bloggers

Leave a Reply

