Why I am bad at lace

I don’t know, actually. I like to think I have some reasonable knitting skills by now, but I’m terrible at lace.

I’ve cast on the Talavera sweater from the summer 2015 Pom Pom Quarterly – see?

IMG_0515

The yarn is Malabrigo Silkpaca Lace, held double, in the Zarzamora colorway. Not really sure at all what gauge I’m getting because this is a spur-of-the-moment, “I’ve had this yarn for ages and haven’t done anything with it and let’s see what happens” project, not a “I have a serious plan and have bought yarn with a purpose and seriously intend to have finished product X that actually looks like finished product X AND looks good on me” project. Am just really curious about how this might turn out.

And it’s absolutely not hard lace. It’s got yarnovers and some slipping and knitting two together and whatnot, but it’s not complicated. There’s nothing about any of the stitches that is hard.

And yet I keep ending up short stitches at the end of the row.

Usually it seems to be a yarnover that I missed the row before. At least once I managed to drop down a row and add it back in, correctly. At least once I’ve dropped down a row and added something back in, not at all correctly. Twice I ended up short one knit stitch, and I just cast on one extra and called it good. (When I did that twice on the same row of the pattern, I started to wonder, just a little, if maybe the pattern was actually wrong…and then I tried to work out the math of YOs and added stitches, and then I realized that I can’t math and the pattern was completely fine and that I had screwed something up somewhere along the line.)

I think this is getting better – I’m on the fourth repeat of the pattern, and I’m starting to be able to read the lace. I have figured out for some rows that certain things are supposed to happen in certain places and if they don’t I need to go back and figure out what I did wrong STAT. I think my problem is with the YOs that outline all the pretty little stockinette triangles – they’re not all quite the same YO done at the same time and I can’t keep them straight yet.

But it’s humbling. A sad amount of time spent on this project so far has been spent tinking back – because, of course, I haven’t been using lifelines, because the lace isn’t hard! The pattern is super straightforward! ARGH. (But honestly, I hate lifelines. They’re super practical and functional, but I hate threading them and I hate poking the needles back into the lifeline’s tiny loops. I may have to start using them anyway.)

I think I have to face the fact that what I’m actually reasonably skilled at is not knitting, writ large, but just fixing mistakes in the acres of stockinette to which I usually devote myself.

And also that there will be some wonky bits in the bottom of this sweater. But they’ll block right out, right?

IMG_0519

Leave a Reply

