Fruits of the weekend, the foxy part

My second project from this past weekend is a Lined Drawstring Bag from In Color Order.

More fat quarters from Jo-Ann’s (the husband picked out the foxes); I didn’t like the two fabrics next to each other enough to use them both on the exterior fabric, so instead of a main fabric and accent on the exterior, I used two pieces of the same fabric, and folded over and topstitched bias tape to hide the seam. I realize that without an accent I didn’t need to cut the main fabric in two pieces, but doing so made it easier to orient myself in the pattern, and also to cut the interfacing to fit.

I used bias tape to make the ties, too – kind of a waste of bias tape, I realize, but I had it to hand and didn’t have any ribbon or enough fabric to make other ties, and I wanted to finish the bag. My first choice would have been orange grosgrain (or orange and green striped!), but white was fine as a runner up.

The nice thing about this pattern is that the raw seams are hidden in the lining.

Stripey the friendly local semiferal wanted to see what I was doing. He was disappointed not to find anything exciting.

It’s a decent size for knitting projects – here it is holding my baby blanket project (in its current state, at least; I’m only about 1.5 skeins in), and I think it would be great for lightweight sweaters.I was pretty pleased with how this turned out – especially that my bias-tape-turned-ribbon meets exactly at each side seam, because I’d been careful with my measuring, and it was nice to know I did it right. If (when) I make this again, I think I would run the channel for the drawstring along the top of the bag, rather than 1.5″ down – I don’t love the frilliness of the top of the bag when cinched shut, and it would make the bag a little bigger. I might also use a lighter weight interfacing? But this is a great project bag pattern, if you want one that closes completely. And you could easily add a pocket to the lining, if you wanted something for notions.

So, this was a fun way to kill a weekend, and I’m hooked. Unfortunately for my wallet, that means I’ve already bought more fabric, and have aspirations of clothing…

IMG_0422This is the yellow canvas from my previous post, which also took up a chunk of Saturday; if it gets done/turns out, I’ll post more about it another time.

Leave a Reply

