Fruits of the weekend, the pink part

So, the fabrics are completely different from the ones in my last post, but I spent my weekend making these:   For today, let me show you the pink box. It’s from a tutorial I found at Sew Like My Mom, and used a couple of fat quarters rescued from the remnants section at Jo-Ann’s. I didn’t laminate the lining, since I wanted it for knitting, not cosmetics, but I did use interfacing to give it some structure – the corduroy is very lightweight and floppy.

(excuse all the lint sticking to the corduroy)

I fudged the size a little, as the remnants section at Jo-Ann’s is not exactly a bastion of fine cutting, and neither piece was quite 21″ when squared. The zipper isn’t set exactly properly – it buckles a little – but it seems to work well enough. 

Lots of space for a shawl project! (Gudrun Johnston’s Mystery KAL.)

The one thing is that I had been looking at a gazillion lined cosmetic bag tutorials online, and I forgot until I was halfway finished that this one, while having some of the clearest instructions, has raw seams. I zigzag-stitched over the edges, but it’s not the prettiest thing in the world.

I also could not figure out where I was supposed to put the pulltab, so that didn’t turn out right and I had to fiddle with it it along the way, including adding a few stitches by hand. Super unattractive, I know, but for a first project I’m good with it.

IMG_0447

If I were to make another one of these, I’d use one of the patterns that hides the raw seams in the lining, but it’s a good size for non-sweater knitting projects, and for about $5 for the materials, I can’t complain.

The 3-D construction of this was interesting, because I have a terrible time visualizing how anything fits together (see: pulltab problems) until I actually have all the materials together in front of me. I can read a pattern a bunch of times, I can even have a photo tutorial walking me through the process, and it won’t make sense until I’m manipulating actual fabric – whether woven or knit. My hope in continuing to knit and sew is that I can learn to “see” these things better in the abstract, rather than having to have the physical object in front of me.

Next time I’ll show you the drawstring bag.

2 thoughts on “Fruits of the weekend, the pink part

  1. That’s so cool! I spent a lot of my undergrad and grad years sewing (machine and hand). I was able to draw my own patterns for everything except the most finely tailored pieces after several years and still have good 2D to 3D visualization skills as a result. It’s fun to take all of those flat pieces of fabric and make something that comes to life. Can’t wait for your next sewing project!

    Like

    1. I envy those skills! That’s what I aspire to do (at least for simple dresses, skirts, and tops; am happy to leave blazers and fitted button downs to others). In practice I’ll be happy if I can do simple alterations on store bought items. It is a LOT of fun (except for thread jams. That was annoying).

      Like

Leave a Reply

