Final (belated) Love Your Blog Challenge: Gratitude

A Playful Day

We’re past the end of April and I missed the last prompt for A Playful Day‘s Love Your Blog challenge: Gratitude. Partly this was because I dropped off the internet for a bit due to work pressures, and partly this was because I really wasn’t sure what to say. I’m still not sure what to say. I am grateful – extremely grateful – for the role that blogging, bloggers, and blogreaders have played in my life, but I can’t imagine that anyone participating in the blog challenge doesn’t feel the same way. I’m also grateful for stumbling on A Playful Day’s challenge, and to A Playful Day for hosting it, and the opportunity it provided to roam a new part of the internet and (virtually) meet lovely new crafting people.

While thinking about this post, I stumbled across the following quote:

Feeling gratitude isn’t born in us – it’s something we are taught, and in turn, we teach our children. —Joyce Brothers

I like that – I like the reminder that we’re not born fully-formed, with a complete moral and ethical code embedded in our brains, but that we’re creatures formed by our surroundings and those who love us. It helps me remember that not everyone gets the chance to learn to be grateful, and that such people need to be pitied rather than railed against. It helps me remember, too, that gratitude is something we learn and practice, or choose to, every day.

IMG_1483

3 thoughts on “Final (belated) Love Your Blog Challenge: Gratitude

  1. This reminds me of one of my favorite passages from *Paradise Lost*, in which Satan realizes that he was wrong to think that being grateful to God was a shameful burden:

    “Lifted up so high, / I ‘sdained subjection, and thought one step higher / Would set me highest, and in a moment quit / The debt immense of endless gratitude, / So burthensome, still paying, still to owe; / Forgetful what from him I still received; / And understood not that a grateful mind / By owing owes not, but still pays, at once / Indebted and discharged — what burden then?” (IV.49-57).

    Of course, he persists in his rebellion even when he knows that it will only be his doom. But whatever. He’s Satan, after all.

    (And quoting this allowed me to get out my lovely old 1924 edition of Milton’s Complete Poetical Works, for which I’m grateful!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a great passage. Is it bad that I can kind of sympathize with “the debt immense of endless gratitude,” though?

      Like

Leave a Reply

